Dream A Little Dream

Is there such thing as a quarter-life crisis? For those who know me personally, you’ll know that I joke about this frequently. But, in all honesty, it feels as such. Maybe it’s just the feeling of wanting to do something more with my life, or the feeling that I’m wasting my time. Whatever it may be, it’s here. Sitting at the edge of my bed while I’m trying to sleep; reminding me of things I’ve yet to do, which is surprisingly A LOT.

When I was younger I used to keep a list of everything I wanted to do when I grew up. It was always growing and evolving. I would try and combine as many as possible because I didn’t want to give up anything. It seems like a pretty selfish trait, but if you think about it, I think it at least proves that I had ambition. Now that I’m older I couldn’t really recreate the whole list again, as much as I would like to. That’s the realistic side of things. Not all dreams are going to work, not all dreams are going to come true.

But here is the good news. It’s never too late to change your mind. To dream another dream. To create another far fetched list of things you want to do when you grow up. What amazing news that is! For those of us who might be feeling trapped, have hope. Take a leap of faith.

This month I want to remind myself that even in times of uncertainty there is always a way to find the path. It usually will start with a single step. What will my first step be, you might ask? My first step is to reimagine the dream. To remember the joy I felt as a kid trying to mash up all my career goals into one big dream job.

So here’s to January, here’s to new goals and here’s to the dreamers!

What was the craziest thing you ever wanted to do as a kid?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Debbi says:

    Be a back up singer to Barry Manillow. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Melanie says:

    I wanted to be Minnie Mouse at DisneyWorld!

    Like

Leave a Reply

