Gratitude

On Monday I went with two good friends of mine to look at an apartment and I realized so many things. First and foremost: I’m growing up. I don’t know when or how this happened but I’m becoming the person I always needed when going new places. I still have a lot of growth to do but I think I’m on the right path. I asked the questions I would have made my mother ask for me and even voluntarily put my name down to be point of contact. It’s amazing.

Lately I’ve felt so down about everything but that day was good. Even though everything didn’t go exactly as planned it gave me hope that I might see the light at the end of the tunnel soon.

When we were there Danielle made it a point to say that I was the manager of the three of us and I should be the one in charge of follow through. I don’t know what it was about the comment or the scenario but it lifted my spirits. It might have been that she trusted me to do something and said it was because I was good at it. I’m not sure. But whatever it was turned my mood around and I felt proud of everything I’ve accomplished.

I don’t want to turn this into a bashing session for my current job but I feel that is something my position doesn’t see a lot of. Recognition. Now, I’ve never ever been one that needed any pat on the back or award to say I’m appreciated. However, with how much the other department is rewarded for their hard work it’s is disheartening. I feel like, with that, it’s always hard for me to hire new people for my office. I never want them to feel like I do on a day to day basis.

I don’t know if I make it clear enough to them but I do my best to let them know I appreciate them and what they do. So if anyone who works for me reads this, thank you. For being there and supporting me day in and day out. I appreciate you more than words could ever describe. 

Leave a Reply

