The Worst Villains

Okay, show of hands, who has seen a Disney movie? Probably like most of you if not all. There’s always a bad guy in those movies. Sometimes it’s an evil witch sometimes it’s weird shadow people sent by a hoodoo guy from New Orleans. Now typically I can’t watch films that are scary in anyway because my brain will take that plot line and immediate apply it to my life and I’ll be looking over my shoulder constantly. But I was never that scared of these movies. I’m sure it’s because the good guys always win but there’s also the fact that I can’t always believe those to be true. In my mind those stories are so far fetched I couldn’t even pretend they were. 

Looking back at it though I’ve noticed there are a few villains that scare me. Gaston from Beauty and the Beast is on the top of that list. You might be thinking that he’s not a real villain but just go back and watch it. You’ll see. 

So what makes him the scariest villain? He’s real. What he did can be accomplished by anyone. He tried time and time again to sway Belle into marrying him, even to go so far as to plan their wedding without her consent. This guy would not take no for an answer and that’s what’s scary. That’s what women face day after day.

Some men are blessed with a pretty face and gentle smile and are so charming you would almost think they’re a prince. But when something doesn’t go their way, we’re in for a world of hurt. These men are used to getting what they want and when they don’t there will be hell to pay. It’s the stuff of nightmares.

I’m writing this tonight because I’ve known my fair share of these men but never suffered by them until recently. A good friend of mine was his Belle and when she said no enough times he believed he could get through me. I mean, in this scenario does this make me the Beast? By the end of it I heard the words “I’m sorry” more than I could count. He said he had a funny way of showing his love and I wanted to have a funny way of showing my fist to his face. 

Through all of this I believe these villains are so frightening because they don’t know they’re the bad guys. They’re so blinded by whatever it is that they can’t see the damage they’re causing. Whether they’re killing the beast or taking your safety net and trapping you in it. Please stay strong. If you recognize the signs ask for help. I know it’s not easy but some people will go out of their way to ensure your safety. All it takes is one moment of courage. 

I’m here for you

Leave a Reply

