Thoughts On Going Home (Reprise)

I’ve moved again, have I mentioned that yet? About a week and a half ago I packed my belongings up in a car for the second time this year and took my journey back up north. I think I am mostly settled here in my new place and I’m finally staring to see it as my home. A few weeks ago I wrote about going home and how home is not necessarily where you live but where you feel most happy. So here I am telling you that I’m home again. I don’t know that I will ever stop referring to my parents house as home but I know I am where I belong.

I am amazed by how such a simple thing can put things on the right track again. This last month, as much as I’ve enjoyed spending time with my immediate family, was trying. There was always that voice in the back of my reminding me I didn’t want to be there. That I didn’t belong there. I know that I will always be welcomed back with open arms when I go home but my roots are growing up here now.

With all that said, I still have miles to go (metaphorically) before I am where I want to be but I’m hoping this is just another step in the right direction. I’m spending time doing what I love to do each day, regardless of having writer’s block. I take time each day to cook dinner for our little family here which seems to be a huge hit here. Not like anyone would turn down a home cooked meal, am I right? I even have it so I don’t have to do all the washing up after if I don’t want to. That was the deal, I cook and they help me clean. It’s working out pretty well so far.

Let’s rewind back to when I brought up writer’s block. I’ve been hit hard with that lately. I think maybe I mentioned that in my last blog but I don’t really remember that one all that much. Maybe I should spend more time reading the things I write and maybe I could remember, but I digress. I have felt uninspired creatively lately and I really hope that now I’m home things will start looking up in that department. Ever since I was a kid I’ve been writing (except for school because why do something you’re being forced to do even if you enjoy it? I think that’s why people think I’m stubborn) and it’s been difficult not being able to express my thoughts and feeling. I wrote a poem about writer’s block a while back and I likened it to trying to defuse a bomb. I’ve honestly never done that before but I imagine it’s stressful and like really difficult. I’m really good at metaphors as you can tell.

Now that this post has been nothing like I expected it to be, I think it’s time to call it quits for today. Thanks for sticking with me through this journey.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. askriverbed says:

    Thanks, Rebekah! I can relate – this journey is unexpected and kind of a wild ride, but I think I’m making meandering progress. Like ants, marching in the strangest patterns, the path may not be a straight one, but it is moving forward. Keep it up – you’re style is so inviting, and you’ve hit on a vein that many can relate to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

