Inspiration Vs. Motivation

What do these words mean to you? They have similar meanings that you can find in dictionaries I think. I could fact check that but do I need to? Nah man. I like to keep things fresh and informal here on my blog.

I’ve read a couple articles regarding this topic. I mean that literally, I’ve only read two. I’m very good at research, you should hire me.With that being said, I found one that had a difference between the two that really stood out to me.

4. Motivation pushes from behind, inspiration pulls and draws you towards a future you want.

What I took from this was that motivation is the action whereas inspiration is the feeling. Being inspired, to me, is unpredictable. One minute you’re sitting around listening to a podcast and the next you have an overwhelming desire to do things or be someone other than who you are at that point in time. Basically, Inspiration is the feeling of a dream building. Am I wrong? I don’t think so, which is awesome because being right is AWESOME! (I mean, if I am wrong just let me know in the comments and I’ll probably ignore it or make excuses about why I am right.)

Motivation is being able to put your dream into reality. It gives you the the game plan of how to do it and fine tuning what that dream really is.

Now by this point you might be thinking, what does this have to do with literally anything? I honestly couldn’t tell you. I don’t know what made me Google search the difference between the words and what they mean. I do know that today I felt inspired by listening to the Explain Things To Me podcast by Anna Akana and Brad Gage. It was amazing. The two hosts sit down and interview someone who is an expert in their field and it’s so great to just listen to people be so passionate about their professions. So I spent all day listening to this and felt this surge of inspiration just like growing in me but I didn’t have any motivation to back that.

Now, a lot of times lack of motivation is correlated to laziness but I would disagree. I feel like for me specifically this comes from a place of fear. Not like fearing for my life or anything like that but just, being scared of doing things because of lack of money or maybe even support. Scared of doing things alone. I don’t necessarily think that’s a bad thing. People often say if your dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough. Which is super cliche but I guess it makes sense.

Do I know what this blog is about yet? Not even close. I only know that I felt compelled to create something and so I created it. Boom #progress!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Vidushi says:

    Nice post. 🙂

    Like

    1. Vidushi says:

      And the Title is very catchy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

