You Suck

And you know what? That’s perfectly fine.

On Sunday I wrote a blog about putting work into your dreams and today I want to talk about how we can do that.

You start by figuring out what it is that you want to do. Don’t be afraid to be specific here, this is your future after all. For me, right now, that’s writing. Obviously that won’t be the same for everyone. And on top of that, your dream could change. That’s okay too. I have to keep reminding myself. Don’t let that fear hold you back. No one will look down on you for deciding to pursue something else than you used to dream of when you were younger. For example, I apparently wanted to be a doctor when I was in first grade. Like, what?

It wouldn’t be bad to put some research behind it. When I was in high school we had to do a project about what profession we wanted to go into when we were older, and at the time it was being a math teacher. This project took forever to do, or so it seemed because I always put it off until the last minute. So we spent the whole term researching what education needed to go into the job and how much you can get paid and just honestly so much research about all aspects of the job that my brain literally melted. Super boring stuff but also pretty helpful. It didn’t deter me from wanting to become a teacher though, that realization took another 4 years from some sort of quarter-life crisis that seems to be lasting a long time. Is that normal? I wonder if I still have that paper. I remember I finished the majority of it the night before it was due and I stayed up so late working on it that I actually started to fall asleep at the table where I was working. I got a B on it though, which at the time, might have been the highest grade I had ever received on a writing project. I ain’t complaining!

Okay, So now you’ve thought about what it is that you want to do now on the the best part. DO IT. I’m not joking. Just go out and do whatever it is you want to do. This is usually when your brain will go, but I don’t know how. Or, I’m not good enough. It’ll make excuses for why you shouldn’t and you gotta cut that out. You’re only putting off your inevitable success

image

I’m going to tell you now that starting off, it’s likely that you will be terrible at what you are doing. On the off chance that you’re not, make sure you continue finding ways to challenge yourself. Let’s continue with writing, if you don’t mind. Write everything you can think to write. It can be short stories, blogs, poems, literally anything and everything. Whatever strikes your interest, write it in a way you would like to read it.

At this point it would be good to have a friend you can trust to be honest with you because what we do next is counting on that. Now, we share our work. You don’t have to share everything you write, just the things that you think have potential to become better. They will help you critic your work and you just have to stay patient. I know it’s not easy to hear someone judge something you wrote but I promise you that you will be better for it. The chosen ones, as I’m going to call them, should want to help you become better. For me, I have my best friend. I send her poems at like 1:30 in the morning and she will tell me her thoughts when she wakes up.

When you get your feedback, you start the process over again. You continue this as many times as you need until you can send something to your chosen one and they say something like wow, you’ve improved so much. You should get this published. Maybe those are the words they use, maybe they won’t be but it doesn’t matter. The more content you create while you focus on improvement, the better you will become. (I’m sure that’s a quote already but it’s mine now.) Its an equal balance of quality AND quantity in my opinion. I have my fair share of things that will never see the light of day but also quite a bit that I am proud to say I wrote.

Find the balance. Embrace your dream. Isn’t it about time you did?

 

Leave a Reply

