Dear Moon

So we meet again. Hello friends, I’ve written another poem inspired by my mental breakdown and the word prompt for today. I hope that you enjoy it. It’s probably the longest poem I’ve done. Feedback is always welcome here. Thanks for hanging out!


Hello moon,
It’s been a while since we’ve met
I’ve been so caught up in my mind
I never intended to forget
Will you tell me what I missed
While I was stuck inside
I’m nearly dying just to tell you
Of the the demons that I hide
It’s been so easy to make mistakes
That I wish were as easy to take back
But I’m hoping that if I’m honest
You can help me stay on track
I know it’s not your job to save me
But I don’t think I can do this alone
If you have some time to spare
Just let me make this known
I’ve sought comfort in pain
In any form that I could find
Hoping I could feel something other
Than the emptiness left behind
Of course that was also self inflicted
Caused by loneliness and fear
When I locked myself away
But look at me, I’m finally here
And I’m begging for redemption
For all of that and more
I’m hoping we can talk
Like the way we did before
Without malice in my voice
And the tears dry from my eyes
I wonder if our souls ever
Got through without goodbye
I’m hoping this will be a chance
To start over once again
Even though the sun will rise
I promise it is not the end
I think I’m stronger this time
Than many moons ago
Because I was only scared
Of what would happen if I let go
Dear moon
I don’t know what you are thinking
But I could use an extra hand
To keep this boat from sinking
I’m doing what I can
To keep myself upright
If you’ll help me lead the way
I can make it through the night
But if all of this falls flat
I can’t say that I blame you
I’m not exactly the type of friend
That anyone is ever used to


moon

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Mary says:

    Very nice poem. I can feel the desperation you are feeling by the words in this poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mary says:

        You are welcome!

        Like

  2. Ow! I loved it, I felt the loneliness and the hope to stay strong, to go further despite all things that happened. I loved it! Amazing poem! Congrats for your blog, I liked it. I wrote I text with the daily prompt word, if you can read it, please, it would be a pleasure read your feedback, I am learning english, so it might be writting errors. https://fenixverde.wordpress.com/2016/08/18/paraiso-magico/

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much for reading. I’ll go check out your blog now! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mr. Sawatsky says:

    Wow, great poem! Almost reads like an epic. how long did it take you to write? Also, where did you get that fantastic accompanying image?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading. I think it took maybe half an hour. Usually my poems take much longer but this one seemed natural to me. The image was found on Pinterest but I wasn’t able to find a link to its original source.

      Like

  4. apdeulofeu says:

    I love how you’re able to show emotions through words, you have a great ability. I could feel the melancholy, it is awesome. Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!!

      Like

  5. Quality over quantity, right? Hahah. I still think it’s immensely impressive how much emotion and honesty you are able to portray with as few words as you do. I don’t have that succinctness and I envy it. Well done, author.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! You’ll get there if you practice. My first poetry was very awful

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Eliott Rose says:

    I can really tell the emotion you are telling the world with these very few words. Great poem!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m trying sooo hard. Haha

      Like

      1. Eliot Rose says:

        You really don’t have to really try your very talented with the very few word you use.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That means so much! Thanks again

        Like

Leave a Reply

