Veggie Tales: The Beginning

So it begins.

Monday started my 30 day challenge and, as I told you in my last blog, I am going to share with you my meal plan. Most of these recipes will be on a Pinterest board conveniently titled Veggie Tales. You are more than welcome to follow me there if you’re interested in the types of recipes I’m likely to be cooking this month.

When it came to meal planning this time, I was completely overwhelmed. Firstly, I am going into this month with no experience of preparing my own vegetarian meals. When I was in college we has a cafeteria that always provided a vegetarian option so it was easy to just go grab something from there and I didn’t have to worry about anything else.

Typically when I meal plan, I only choose dinners because lunches are easier to just throw something together for. However, with this challenge I know that it will be a bit more difficult to find something veggie friendly for lunches so I’ve chosen a few simple meals for that too.

I started this meal plan the same way I start all of my other ones. I write down two weeks worth of meals that I want to eat so I stop looking to find new recipes. That is usually where I get hung up. I just want to keep looking through to find new and better recipes and that means I never make a decision.

Once I have it written down on paper I can close my computer and start deciding which meal goes for which day. With my old meal plans I find this part pretty simple. I always just rotate between type of meat trying not to repeat the same one twice in a row. With this one though, I didn’t know where to start. I ended up using the same method but with categories or types of dishes. It was more obscure but it ended up working.

Once I finished my meal plan I created my shipping list. Because these recipes involve a lot of fresh food I made sure I only got what I would absolutely be using for this first week unless I was certain it wouldn’t spoil by the time I was ready to use it. That’s why I think it’s important to create your meal plan before the grocery list. It will save you money in the long run even though it’s a bit more time consuming.

Grocery shopping was a breeze. I remember being in the store finding everything I needed and not needing to spend too much time in the “cold section.” I filled up my basket and got really worried about how much it was all going to be because I only had so much to spend on these first two weeks. The whole time during check out I think I held my breath just hoping I stayed within budget. AND I DID! I was so proud of myself. I meant to snag a picture of all my groceries before I put them all away and I totally forgot. Maybe next time.

I’ve been doing pretty good staying on track with this challenge. Today, after having some blood drawn, I was craving something with meat but I ended up making a veggie sandwich and was much more satisfied.

Those are really the only updates I have for you today. Stay tuned for more. If you want to, that is.

3 days down, 27 to go.

Leave a Reply

