Goodbye 2016

Okay so here’s the deal, I had written and prepared a letter to 2016 maybe a month ago that I was planning to post today but I don’t want to anymore. It’s not because I’ve changed my opinions. I just was bored by it. I had rewritten it a few times and it just didn’t seem right. This is my last blog of the year and I just want it to be me, you know?

If I’m being honest. I don’t know if this will be anymore accurate than the letter but we’re going to freaking try.

2016 deserves a huge middle finger for so many things. I certainly could have done without all the pain, and death, and generally terrible things that have happened. Maybe the world is really coming to an end? Probably not, but you know…

It has been such a whirlwind year. I don’t even know where I would begin to wrap it up. There’s been ups and downs (a lot of them.) There’s been self discovery. There’s been starting over, many, many times. There’s been growth, probably. There’s been set backs. There’s been life and time carrying on as it always does, even if I didn’t want it to. I feel like this is going to be one of those years I just sort of forget ever happened. I am in no way attached to it.

I am looking forward to 2017 so much though. I have plans for this blog and I’m hoping to have plans for myself as well. That’s saying a lot because I feel like I’ve spend the last 5 or 6 years having absolutely no clue what I want to do. I don’t make resolutions, but if I did, I’m sure they would be along the lines of being a better person overall.

Not to spoil the surprise but on Friday (I think), I will be posting a blog about the things I have accomplished this year. It is basically a revival of my very first blog post called New Years Resolved. What I like to do, instead of creating a list of what I want to do in the new year, I list out everything I did. It’s like a “to-done” list. I hear those are supposed to make you feel better about yourself.

On a completely unrelated note, how has your holiday season been? Christmas just passed and I think we’re in the middle of Hanukkah and Kwanzaa. I celebrated Christmas with my family, as I do every year. I got three pairs of boots and three sweaters so I assume that means my family thinks I need to start dressing better. So to that I say: RUDE! No, not really. I am so incredibly grateful for the thought that went into everything. I loved it all.

I really love giving gifts for no reason at all. I find it hard to wait to give people gifts because I get so excited about them. Like this year, I got one of my best friends a tarot deck that was absolutely gorgeous. As soon as it was delivered to my house I couldn’t shut up about it. I think I texted her about it 6 or 7 times to say how excited I was about her gift. And For my other best friend I got her something I’m pretty stoked about as well. Unfortunately I can’t talk about it yet because it won’t get to her until tomorrow and I don’t want the surprise to be ruined! I think she’ll like it though. If not though, I’ll gladly take it back. (Maybe that’s how she’ll know she will like it too?)

What are some of the best gifts you’ve ever given someone? Is there a story that goes with it? I would love to hear about it. Leave some comments below!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. apdeulofeu says:

    I could not have said it better šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. apdeulofeu says:

    Gifts? Once (last year) I wrote a books for my teachers where they were the characters, it was hard since the story was long and I didn’t have time (vacations were coming). Now I’m writing another book for my friends! I love writing stories and books for people ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so awesome! I love it

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

