How To Redefine Your Style

I’ve been going through a style funk lately. I like to tell myself that I would capable of being really fashionable if I could afford it, but maybe that’s not actually true. There have been plenty of times when I had an abundance of funds (in comparison to what I was used to. I wasn’t a millionaire or anything) and I never went to revamp my wardrobe. Even the other day I went “shopping” and I told myself I couldn’t buy a sweater because it wasn’t on clearance. That’s my view on buying new clothes apparently.

Since it’s technically still the “new year, new me” month, I figured that today I would give you my tips on how to redefine your style while not overspending.

Tip #1 – Try on all of your clothes. I’m serious. I do this a couple times a year to make sure I still love what I have in my closet. It helps you know how everything fit.

Tip #2 – Get rid of clothes. I have the hardest time with this step because I tend to keep shirts to hold on the memories I have attached to them. I had a shirt from the soccer team I was on for one season in elementary school until I after I graduated high school. Why was that even necessary? It wasn’t. So get rid of things that are too small and that you know you will never wear. They just take up space and make you sad you can’t wear them.

Tip #3 – Look at pictures online of fashion styles you like and see what you have in your closet that is similar. I’m a big fan of the blazer/skinny jean combo right now and surprisingly, I actually purchased on a few years ago I never wore because I didn’t know how to style it.

Tip #4- Mix and match. I have a few shirts in my closet that I only wear a certain way and sometimes I get bored of that. I always think it’s fun to be able to use the same clothes to make a different look entirely. I do this by putting on a shirt and trying it with different pants or skirts to see what could blend well. Sometime you get crazy and mix stripes with an animal print, you do you. I don’t think I hate it. We’ll see

Tip #5- Look for bargains. The thrift shop look is in and acceptable these days. Plus, if you go to a “rich” neighborhood you could find really nice quality pieces. I ain’t ashamed of that. Growing up we shopped a lot at the Goodwill by my house for things like jeans. It works. Shop the clearance section in places. It may take time to find exactly what you’re looking for but you’ll save a ton of money and not tempt yourself with the full price clothes.

Tip #6- Shop your friends’ closets. Have a get together where you all bring in your unwanted items and see what will work for you. It’s so cool to be able to see something of yours get a new life and also it’s free which I would recommend. A few of my most worn items were given to my by a friend of mine. Thanks Hannah

Tip #7- If you’re really committed, change your hair. For a long time I have had really long hair. It was my signature look. Three weeks ago I made a spur of the moment decision that I was over having long hair and got to chopping. Yes, I cut my hair myself but I might not suggest that to everyone who really cares about their hair being perfect. I’ve never been that bothered by imperfections in my hair and I also tend to get impatient when it comes to making changes like that. For those of you curious, I don’t regret it one bit. Short hair 2017, baby! Its my look™.

Okay, there you have it. That is how I am going to redefine my style this year. What fashion styles are you loving recently? Are you changing your look this year? What tips do you have to do so? Leave your comments below.


Today I am thankful that I have a three day weekend coming up

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ladylebz says:

    Hey Rebekah … Great post! I also wrote on style reinvention a while back, and if you’d like some pics to help you get started, check some out via my post -> https://ladylebz.wordpress.com/2016/09/02/life-hack-when-your-personal-style-needs-reinvention/

    Hope it helps 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a great post! Thanks for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

