Vive La Résistance

I have been so disheartened by the events of the last few weeks. This world is being torn apart with all the current events and it’s making me so frustrated. I won’t deny that most of what is going on doesn’t have an immediate direct effect on me but that doesn’t mean I should just ignore it. We’ve ignored it far too long.

Listen, I get it. You don’t think we should cause a frenzy over a simple election. I know you think my ideas are far fetched and outlandish. I understand that. However, that isn’t going to stop me from trying to find a way to join forces with this. I believe very strongly that this country is going down the wrong path and I want to be there to change that. I want to stand my ground and stop shying away a fight just to keep the peace among us.

As white people, we are lucky to be able to have peaceful protests. We are able to choose silence because it’s easier. We are able to live without our lives being disrupted by racism. We have it easy. We’ve taken advantage of this privilege for too long and it’s about time we use it for good.

I’m going to be honest with you here. I don’t have the answers or solutions to the issues this world is facing right now. That won’t stop me from doing what I can to make things better. I’m done just sitting back feeling helpless. I have the power to make a difference and so I will.

I want to be able to look back on this time knowing that I fought for what I believed to be right. I want to be able to tell stories of the people I met along the way that were the true leaders of the resistance. I want to know that history books will give light to those who have long deserved it.

Here’s to being a better person and thinking of things other than just ourselves.

Related image

One Comment Add yours

  1. emariemon says:

    I agree that we can’t just sit around and do nothing but I think we all need to remember to stay levelheaded and that boundaries on ourselves are sometimes necessary. Being levelheaded does not mean inaction though, we do need to act.People should never be mistreated no matter the circumstances.

    Like

Leave a Reply

