To My Best Friend On Her Birthday

This is the dawning of the age of Aquarius.

Okay, so it isn’t but the other day I was thinking about we’re both Aquarian and immediately heard that song Aquarius (from the musical Hair) playing in my head. This is all irrelevant but you know how I love my musical numbers.

I should really start by telling you that I’m only doing this out of defiance. We had a conversation two weeks ago about this so I’m sure you knew this was coming. Today is your birthday and I’m going to just bring some attention to it. I promise I won’t go overboard.

Happy Birthday! Can you believe that it’s been less than 3 years since we first met? There are days when I feel like we’ve always known each other. Sometimes I tell myself that we knew each other in a past life and that’s why we became friends so intensely. It was like one second we were coworkers and then next we were family. It’s hard to imagine what life would be like if that hadn’t happened.

We’ve been through quite a lot together in the last few years and like all friendships, it’s had it’s ups and downs. I’m glad that we’ve been able to move past it. Or at least I hope we have. I think so. Honestly I’m not sure that it matters. Through thick and thin, am I right? (Spoiler alert: I am.) Even if I do think you’re high maintenance.

Remember that time I almost died?

img_0018   

Or what about the time when I was almost eaten alive?

Then the time everyone quit their job and we took a road trip to Boise for the weekend.

You can’t forget when we endured panic attacks to get to the beach!

 

Then of course the many, MANY, selfies in between.

  

  

 

Here’s to more of that this year! Next year, I hope I can be there to celebrate with you!

But for now, I just want to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I’ll catch you on the flip side.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. PearlyShells says:

    lol you’re an ork. But thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what friends are for!

      Like

  2. bad301 says:

    Happy Birthday to your friend. However, what the hell did you do to almost die? -Bruce

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heat Exhaustion my friend.
      We went hiking on the hottest day of the year and I strayed a little too far away from where the water was and by the time I got back with them I was done for. It was a time. Quite the adventure, really. We ended up hiking back in the wrong direction and ended 5 miles away from our car and had to hitchhike back because none of us would have been able to walk all the way back.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

