Getting Baked

I know you’re here because of the title but I pranked you SO hard! Welcome to the first installment of Getting Baked – a series about baking things. Also cooking but you can see what it’s named the way it is.

So listen, I might have discovered my favorite lunch in the history of ever and it’s the easiest thing in the world. I’ll clue you in. Two words. Roasted. Veggies. I know! It’s insane to think I’ve been spending my whole life eating my lunches at restaurants because I can’t be bothered to make anything. NOT ANYMORE!

The best part about this is that it’s a meal that you can prep ahead of time and just grab and go. I’m eating it as we speak and It’s superb!

Here’s how it works. You go to the store and buy any and all vegetables you like (and meats too, if you want.) Once you’re ready to prepare the meal, chop up all the veggies into bite size pieces. At this point, I put mine in a bowl because I find it easier to mix/coat everything rather than just drop it on a roasting pan. Drizzle with olive oil and your favorite flavors. Don’t forget to season with salt and pepper and mix together. If you used the bowl technique, disperse the veggies on a roasting pan and bung it in the oven at 500°F for 15 minutes.

Voila! That’s all it takes. When the timer goes off, take it out of the oven and you have yourself the best lunch I’ve ever had!

I used this recipe (if you can call it that) to get the general idea of size proportions but this is what I used.

3 Zucchini
3 Red Bell Pepper
4 Roma Tomatoes
25 (maybe) Brussel Sprouts
1 Red Onion
4 Heads of Broccoli
4 Chicken Breasts
Olive Oil
Italian Seasoning
Paprika
Salt and Pepper

(this is where I would post pictures but I forgot because I was too busy eating. Oops)

Today I am pairing this meal with mashed potatoes because they were readily available for me to pack up but typically I bring a wild rice blend which is amazing! Since having this for lunch just about every day for a week now I have some suggestions for how to make this even better.

Tip 1 – pepper flakes. This meal is great with flavor but if you want a little kick (which i almost always do) sprinkle in some red pepper flakes.

Tip 2 – definitely use grape tomatoes. I mean, I’m okay with the other tomatoes but for those of you who have an issue with the texture of cooked tomatoes I would recommend the others. I have a feeling they’ll hold up a little better

Tip 3 – the more veggies the better. I was worried when I was doing this that I was going to go overboard with the amount of vegetables I had but I felt like I wanted more of everything. I might suggest using yellow squash, cauliflower, whatever else you like. Get Wild. You can even leave the meat out and make it fully vegetarian. I’m about that life. Sign me up!

Tip 4 – don’t feel confined to the flavors you always use. Try a lemon pepper and taco seasoning for more of a “Mexican” feel. Want it to feel Asian inspired? Try Garlic and ginger and make a light sauce to pair it with. Honestly, I don’t know if you can ever go wrong with this.

And there you have it. This has been an episode of getting baked and I’ve been your host. I’ll catch you on the flip side.


Today I’m thankful for spontaneous adventures.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. anxietyin2d says:

    Loved your hook! Real classy. XD

    Like

    1. That’s why I get paid the big bucks!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

