Uneven

I wrote this poem January 10th when the word prompt was uneven. That’s obviously why it’s named that but I don’t know that it really fits. Maybe one day I will rename it. We’ll see. Enjoy.


I am all give
And never take
You are empty promise
And heartbreak
But I still offer my all
For you to devour
And you’re smooth like honey
Yet still taste so sour
I always liked that feeling
The prickly pucker left behind
So I never noticed the way
Your words sounded next to mine
I had tunnel vision
And baby you were the train
Oh the lengths I would go to
Just to hear you say my name
But sometimes apples can be poisoned
And the beast can be the good guy
So I’m taking all that’s left
To give your last goodbye

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

