A Confession

I have a sad confession to make. I don’t think I’ve read a book all year. Can I even still claim to love reading? I feel like such a fraud! So I decided I needed to do something about it. I ordered three short poetry books and I am so excited to read them. I’ve never owned a poetry book before now and I’m just like…jazzed!

As many of you have read, one of my top tips for writing is to read/listen to the art of others. So that’s exactly what I’m doing.

I want to tell you all about the books I ordered, but I have secret plans for them so you just have to wait. I mean, I had to wait a week for these books to get in. I think you can wait a week as well!

Do you ever just become so passionate about something that you don’t want to do anything else but that. That’s how I’ve been for writing lately. I mean, I know that I’m no Dickinson or anything (which might be a good thing?) but I can see potential for growth. I’ve come a long way from wanting to be a teacher or a doctor. That’s for sure.

I think what I love most about writing is that I can be whoever and whatever I want to be. If you know me at all you would know that is the best possible solution to my dilemma. It’s likely that I’ll change my mind again but as of right now, I’m inclined to believe that I’m meant to be writing. We can reevaluate in a year or so and see how that’s coming along.

I often wonder if it’s a generational thing that has me linking creative fulfillment with happiness and in turn, happiness to success. What are your thoughts on that? Let me know in the comments.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Margarita says:

    Happiness IS success. Once I recognized that, I had a firm foundation upon which to build more success. 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If I had to pick between happiness and a sense of purpose, I’d pick purpose. For me at least, purpose seems to be the deeper need.

    I love this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Paul! It’s good to hear what other people have to say on the matter! Thanks for your continued support 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

