Branches

On days like these I feel
Like broken branches from a tree
As if I’ve fallen in a river
And I’m drifting off to sea
It’s poetic enough, you tell me
But I don’t think you understand
When all I’ve ever wanted
Is my feet planted firmly back on land
The rapids are unsteady
And seem to never end
You tell me to be patient
For what’s up around the bend
But can’t you see I’m tired
Of barely keeping my head above
The swift and coursing water
And being told that this is love
Of hearing just hold on
That this life is worth the fight
And without all this darkness
I can’t appreciate the light
I don’t want to hear
That it will all be okay
But to have you hold me in your arms
Because you don’t know what to say
At least from that I’ll know
That I am not alone
And we all are still wishing
To one day make it home


I wrote this poem at the end of Summer, I think. I was in Tacoma visiting family and sleeping in my van. It was quite the adventure. If I remember correctly, this was right before the my Mental Breakdown. I think that whatever inspired this poem was part of the issue. Good thing I can’t remember it now!

(also, so what if I used the “tm” character just so I could fit the word prompt into my post today. I’m just being innovative.)

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Quinn says:

    “But can’t you see I’m tired
    Of barely keeping my head above
    The swift and coursing water
    And being told that this is love
    Of hearing just hold on
    That this life is worth the fight
    And without all this darkness
    I can’t appreciate the light”

    This part immediately made me think of an old relationship. It wasn’t true. None of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, Quinn! If I could hug you, I would. I’m glad that you’re out of that relationship.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This poem had an incredible and beautiful rythm right through. I particularly loved the way you summed it up with a rhyming of alone and home. On the whole, beautifully composed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

