A Review

books.jpg

My books arrived on Friday night! As soon as I got the package I went straight to my room and started reading. I finished two of them that night and then savored the last one. Now I have 10 more books that I have sitting in my Amazon cart waiting for me to purchase. I don’t think I’ve read enough to better my art but here’s hoping.

I initially purchased Letting Go Is An Acquired Taste as a gift for a friend (hence why I couldn’t talk about the books before). The book was shorter than I had anticipated but that is only because I didn’t look to see how long it was before I bought it. The book itself is only 46 pages but it is packed with feelings. After having read this book, I didn’t want to give it away. So much so that I am going to end up buying it again for myself so I can always have it around. I think my favorites of this are a tie between Dear Stranger and Hurricane Nights.

I was holding on
to hurricane nights
and lit candles
and my acoustic guitar
resting in your hands.

I purchased What We Buried from the recommendation of Leena Norms in this video. The video discusses her recommendations for feminist literature and she spoke highly of Caitlyn Siehl. There are poems in these books addressed to her future children expressing how she wants to tell them that there is no wrong way of being who they are. It’s touching and happily emotional. My favorite poem in this collection is called Mythology

You love her like mythology.
You love her like the impossible stories
of Gods and monsters.
When she sings, think fairies.
Think mermaids. Think hymns.

I, of course, had to buy No Matter the Wreckage. I first heard of Sarah Kay through YouTube and I fully believe she is who brought my love for poetry back to life. At least, spoken word poetry. (You can find her website/poems here.) When I was growing up I had a strong aversion to poetry that didn’t rhyme because it didn’t make sense to me. Thankfully I’ve come to accept that I was WRONG. Yeah, you heard me right. I. Was. Wrong.

I love the way Sarah’s poems sound and I wanted to be able to see how they were formatted which is why I am so thrilled to own this book. Some of these poems don’t even look like poems. Some look like letters and some like essays. I love it. I don’t know if I can really pick a favorite but I have really been liking one called Dragons.

…Be careful, darling.
Your footsteps land heavy here. Your
racket will wake the dragons.

Now, I know that world poetry day was yesterday but I think that we can extend that for another day. Poetry should always be celebrated. Who are your favorite poets? Do you have a favorite poem? I look forward to hearing your recommendations!

11 Comments Add yours

  1. PearlyShells says:

    Sarah Kay is definitely incredible. The book Letting Go Is An Acquired taste is perfect for your friend. 😏 You already know I love it and have read it countless times. I can’t wait to borrow your other two.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think we agreed on you borrowing the others…I don’t think I’m ready to share.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. PearlyShells says:

        Lol what’s new?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Quinn says:

    “When I was growing up I had a strong aversion to poetry that didn’t rhyme because it didn’t make sense to me.”

    I loved this post
    And that Mythology line
    I’ll do my best
    To make this rhyme!

    My favourite poem
    Is hard to say
    Invictus, maybe
    or Mid Term Break.

    She Moved Through The Fair
    (Melodic, disarming)
    Or Pangur Bán
    (12 centuries old and charming).

    Suppose it depends
    On the state of my mood-
    Rhyming or cryptic
    Bright or subdued.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. All of these poems are so good!! The fact that you wrote a poem about the poems is probably the best thing I’ve ever experienced. Thanks for making my day 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. In my early 20s, I poured over The Waste Land by T.S.Eliot so frequently that I came close to memorizing the whole poem. Nowadays, I pretty much disagree with its messages, but I still like the style.

    I’m rather fond of Robert Bly’s poem, “The Resemblance Between Your Life and a Dog”. It starts:

    I never intended to have this life, believe me —
    It just happened. You know how dogs turn up
    At a farm, and they wag but can’t explain.

    Like

    1. The whole poem, are you insane? It’s so long! I could never have done that.
      As for the other one. I quite like it! I had to look it up but it was worth the read.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You might have been able to do it if you read it as often as I did! 😀 Hey, before I forget, Robert Bly has a book of essays about American poets that is an exciting read and passionate read. It’s called, simply enough, “American Poetry”. I can’t praise it highly enough. You might be doing yourself a favor to see if you can find it in your local library.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the recommendation! I’ll definitely see if I can find it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

