Often

I visit you often
In old poems and dreams
Just to remember
The gap in your teeth
Or the curve of your smile

There was a time
I would beg to forget
All the events
Of the day that you left
In a blur of denial

But now, if I could
I would hold on tight
To the sound of your voice
Or the way morning sunlight
Makes your skin glow

I replay our memories
Like home movies in my head
To laugh at old jokes
And hear what promises we said
Would keep us afloat

But it’s never enough
To fill the space
Your absence left behind
Like an empty bookcase
Or a rainy day

I visit you often
Writing words like ‘I’m sorry’
And ‘I forgive you’
And ‘it was never meant to be
This way’

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the concept of ‘visit’ you used here. You used the word so perfectly, so wonderfully. To visit memories, to visit a person from the past, but only in the mind and never in person.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks!!! Glad you like it ☺

      Liked by 1 person

    2. That strikes me as very insightful, MVL

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I replay our memories
    Like home movies in my head
    To laugh at old jokes
    And hear what promises we said
    Would keep us afloat

    That’s timeless! So poignant.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much ☺

      Like

  3. Oh, that’s lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

