Getting Baked: Honey Porter Glazed Skewers

Did you think I forgot about this series? I won’t lie to you, I wasn’t sure if this would be a thing. I’m extremely inconsistent and I don’t take time to actually take pictures of anything I make because I’m great at being a stereotypical millennial. But today I planned ahead!

On Sunday we made honey porter glazed chicken skewers. I had made these a few years ago by myself and I was thoroughly pleased with how they turned out so of course I wanted to try them again. You can find the recipe here!

First of all, this recipe calls for either a porter or stout beer and for those of you who know me, I have no idea what the difference is. I don’t drink beer at all. So I stood in the beer isle for maybe 15 minutes trying to decide which one I would go with. I can only imagine people assumed I was just an underage girl wishing my life away to be able to taste the sweet sweet nectar of beer. (Okay ew, why would I even type that?)

I settled for this one because my name is Rebekah (obviously) and I found the irony funny.

I love having things prepared early so when I come home I can just bung it in the oven and be set to go and this recipe mostly delivers. You mix everything together the day before and let the chicken marinate in it over night.

I tried to take pictures of everything as I was mixing together but clearly I forgot along the way. By along the way, I mean the very first step.

Once you’re ready to cook you put the chicken on skewers and you can either grill them or bake them in the oven. When I first made this recipe I made them in the oven and I was well pleased but this time I wanted to try grilling because I’m adult and I also have the option this time.

Before you put these babes on the grill you’re going to want to reduce the marinade. You do that by letting it boil and stirring for a bit of time. These are all very technical terms here. You start by cooking up some onions in a bit of oil. Don’t walk away from it though. That would be a bad idea. It’s good thing I didn’t do that…right?

Spoiler alert. I did.

Of course, no meal would be complete without side dishes. We served this dish with baked beans (family recipe) and pasta salad. I would highly recommend this if you like your comfort food with a hint of Southern flare.

Here’s the best part of all of this. I asked how everyone liked their food and we got a 10/10 from the whole table. Mind you, there were only three people eating that day. I would still call this a win. The pickiest eater I’ve ever met said he didn’t see where there could be room for improvement. I’m not kidding!

Of course, that only lasted a minute or so before he said he would have liked to have pineapple on the skewers too. I guess we can’t ever have 10/10 from everyone.

I would really recommend this chicken dish to anyone. Even if you don’t like beer,Β  you can hardly even tell it’s in the mix!

Happy National Beer Day! What are your favorite beer recipes? I have half a bottle left and I need to do something with it since drinking it is not an option.


Today I’m thankful for comfort food.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. sheenmeem says:

    Can the recipe be used without the beer?

    Like

    1. I’ve never tried to use it without the beer but I have a feeling maybe a dark soda might work for it. Coke or Pepsi. Even a chicken broth would work, I’m sure

      Liked by 1 person

      1. sheenmeem says:

        Thank you. I think the broth idea is a good option.

        Like

  2. mumsthewordblog1 says:

    This made me hungry πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒand to think I thought Honey Porter a play on words! (Harry Potter ) πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If only I had thought of that!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

