You And Me

You so often like to tell me
It’s you and me against the world
But it’s not the world that is my worry
It’s the demons that unfurl
In times of insecurity
When our voices turn against
The ones that we hold dear
Cutting quick in false pretense
It’s what will happen
When the spark turns to flame
What once kept us warm
Destruction, became
And how many times
Can a Phoenix be reborn
Before letting go
Of what made her transform
I would like to believe
There’s always a chance
We’ll break free again
And not be caught in this trance
But when it’s you against me
We get wrapped up and tangled
Fighting demons that leave us
Feeling broken and mangled


This one sounds a bit familiar.

Sometimes you have friends that you fight with even if you don’t want to. That’s what you get for being stubborn, I suppose.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. So true we’ve all been there a time or two, I like the fact you stay hopeful at the end

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading!!

      Like

  2. PearlyShells says:

    Haha, definitely what you get when two sides are stubborn. Still love the poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As a fellow stubborn individual, I can totally relate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know if I should be happy that you relate or not. Either way, thanks for reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha happy, you put down words that really paint a picture that I can relate to. Kudos. Sorry, should have elaborated.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

