A Secret Project

For those of you who might not know, April was National Poetry Writing Month (NaPoWriMo) in which many artists take part in a writing a poem every day for 30 days. I secretly decided to take on this project because I want to push myself further as a writer and I thought this would be a good exercise.

In my mind, the point of NaPoWriMo is not to come out of the month with 30 fully fleshed out and ready to be read poems. Rather, this challenge is just that. A challenge. I mean, if you can make it through this month with 30 “perfect” poems, I commend you. You deserve a round of applause.

My hope for this project was to have some starting points for poems to complete and post later in the year when my well of poems dry up and I have nothing else prepared and I think I was able to do that. So, did I win NaPoWriMo? No. Did exceed my expectations? Yes. Honestly, I think that’s the most important part.

I know that you’re on the edge of your seat waiting for me to give you a peak into what the month looked like for me. What kind of content creator would I be if I didn’t accommodate you? So, without further adieu, here is a glimpse of the worst poems to come out of my NaPoWriMo.


Day 6
I want to give up
on writing all these poems
for people I know
That will never understand
what it’s like to never know

Day 8
I think that maybe
today I won’t write at all
even if I should

Day 17
It’s like suddenly I hate everything
That has come before
My words were so childish
And rhymes were a chore
If you could do me a favor
please just ignore
the poems I wrote thus far
because their stories I deplore.


There were a few days I didn’t even take time to write but like I said, this was about challenging myself, not winning.

This was what inspired my Wanna Bet? series. Speaking of that, how are you doing with practicing a new language? I know we’re only three days in but I can’t help that I’m excited!

Au revoir

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. justastar100billion says:

    I love it! I wish I would have known I would have written as well 😛 However, there is always next year! I will bring my A-Game!
    I love,
    “Day 8:
    I think that maybe
    today I won’t write at all
    even if I should”
    So, funny ^_^ you wrote a poem about not writing a poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes that’s all you can do! Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome read! I tried it as well and miserably failed. 😦
    And the new language thing is going really good! I watched Cinderella in deutsch yesterday. 😀 How are you doing with French??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve practiced it every day so far! It’s still small things like, comment ça va? (How are you?) and bonjour etc.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

