Getting Baked: Cheesecake

This week on Getting Baked, we actually bake.

Lately every time we have a get together we make this cheesecake and I figure I could exploit that even further by using it for my blog. It’s very good. The only downside to making cheesecake is how freaking long it takes to make. I always forget to make it ahead of time so we end up having to wait until 9 or 10pm before we can eat it and even at that point it’s not fully ready.

Not this time!

I had an extra day in my weekend before Easter this year which gave me plenty of time to get prepared. I’m pretty much a professional baker now!

Honestly, the cake itself doesn’t take long to mix together. It’s the baking and cooling that take forever. If you’re wanting to make this for a get together or function, make it the day before.

First things first- Preheat your oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit.  Next, prepare your spring form pan. Coat the pan with butter and then wrap it in foil like you know what you’re doing. This is actually necessary so don’t skip it.

Now we get to mixing. Start by mixing butter and cream cheese until smooth. You’ll want to make sure that everything is room temperature otherwise it will be really difficult. It’s recommended to use an electric mixer for this is you’re a wimp, but I like a challenge so I settled for a flimsy whisk and determination bigger than my ego.

Impressive, I know. When mixing in the eggs make sure you do this one at a time for reasons unbeknownst to me. I also think you’re supposed to crack eggs in a separate bowl first to make sure they aren’t bad but as discussed before, I’m a professional. You see that one handed egg crack? Try and prove me wrong.

After all 5 eggs are thoroughly combined you can mix in the other ingredients. Mix in 2 cups of sour cream. Then add in 1.5 cups of sugar, 2Tbsp cornstarch, 1.5 tsp vanilla extract and 1tsp of lemon juice. Mix until smooth.

Pour into your previously prepared spring form pan. Place your pan in a roasting tin and then fill with water. You want it to go about halfway up the cake tin, in the roasting pan, not on the cake. (Obviously.) I don’t have a big enough roasting tin for that so I settle for more like a third.

Plop that in the oven for 2 hours or until lightly browned on top.

Now for the most difficult part of the entire recipe. Take this baby out of the oven and let it cool completely. When I say completely, I mean it. This is not a cake that tastes good warm. I know that it’s got ingredients that in some forms would taste good warm but not this. Let this cool to room temperature and let it chill for a few hours or overnight in the fridge.

So much for instant gratification.

Anyway, once it’s sufficiently chilled out slice it into as many or few pieces as you want and dig in!


Original recipe from Art and The Kitchen.

Aujourd’hui, je suis reconnaissant pour ma mère

3 Comments Add yours

  1. poetrylover says:

    Looks so good!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was amazing. Totally worth it

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

