I Remember

I remember loving you like it was yesterday
Your body so familiar
Your smile looked like home
But still out of place
I remember loving you like sour patch kids
Every fight left me sour
But our make ups were so sweet
I was addicted
I remember loving you like the universe
Floating like zero gravity
And the way light is born from death
All without end
I remember loving you
But I don’t remember it’s return

I remember loving you like a bad dream
I want to forget
But your name repeats all day
Begging me to come home
I remember loving you like I was on fire
Burning confused with lust
Flame confused with chemistry
Until all that’s left was ash
I remember loving you like my childhood
Which is to say
I only remember
The good ole days
I remember loving you like running
As fast as I could
Out of breath
And never looking back

I remember leaving you like heartbreak
The way it still hurts
The way I still remember
Even if I want to forget

Leave a Reply

