A Review 4

As I am writing this, I am sitting in a hotel room in Vancouver with none of these books with me. I can’t believe I forgot this review was coming up. I’ve been falling behind with my blog and I feel all sorts of guilty about it. All of that aside, let’s jump right in.

I chose New American Best Friend By Olivia Gatwood because I am enamored by her slam poetry. It’s powerful and funny and just all around awesome. I think that I still prefer seeing her preform these poems but that doesn’t mean I did not enjoy this collection. If you do feel like checking out her spoken word, this is a great one (and is also in this book!) As per tradition, here is an excerpt from my favorite poem.

Manic Pixie Dream Girl says, I’m going to save you

says, Don’t worry, you are still the lead role.
This is your love story about, about how I teach you to live

Everything they know about me
they will learn when it is projected onto you.

Watch the way you pick up my bad habits
and make them look good.

The Anatomy Of Being by Shinji Moon had been sitting in my cart since before my first review post. I was nervous to purchase this collection for fear that it was too different that what I usually liked. Boy was I wrong! This book takes you through the anatomy of being in four parts. I don’t know how else to describe it. Currently, my favorite poem in this collection is called The Water Cycle.

What I’ve come here to do tonight is this —
salvage what I can from the wreckage
so that I can rise again, like a phoenix, into my own skin.

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur was everything Instagram, Pinterest and Tumblr promised it would be. Short and to the point poetry that will rip your heart out and then wrap you in a blanket with a cup of tea from one page to the next. It will give you feels you didn’t know you could feel. Although I wouldn’t say this book is appropriate for all ages in it’s entirety, there is something in this book for everyone. It is beautifully written with accompanying sketches. I would recommend this to anyone who has ever even thought about buying it.

you don’t see the
person they are
you see the person
they have potential to be

And last, but not least, Honeybee: a collection of poems about letting go by Trista Mateer. After reading this, I didn’t want to read anything else. I’m not joking. I had 10 more books delivered shortly after finishing these books and I still haven’t read those yet. Normally I have no patience when it comes to books but I just keep going back to this one. The description states that it is an almost chronological collection of poetry after a major breakup. I haven’t recently gone through a breakup but after reading this book I feel like I might have. I’m not ready to let it go yet. It’s beautiful. Seriously, if you’re looking for a good cry, I recommend this.

Maybe when I am older

I will learn to love without smothering

without walls
and without hard edges.

I’m still not sure there is a right way to do this.

Leave a Reply

