Wanna Bet? – Parlez-vous Francais?

I was meant to post this last week. Oops! I’m really falling behind with my schedule.

We have now finished our month of practicing new language. As you are aware, I chose to work on my French. You know, the language of love. There was no love to be spoken though.

This month I spent relearning all the basics and I have to say, learning a language in high school is far more efficient. Well, I don’t want to say that DuoLingo is ineffective. There were just many times that I would have to guess the correct conjugation of a verb without ever being taught. However, come to think about it, I did just try and breeze through as much as possible as quickly as I could. Maybe I just missed it.

I technically didn’t win this challenge. I wouldn’t say I failed though. I think I only missed one day on the app and then another day all together. I mentioned earlier I had been practicing a French song on my guitar and like, obviously I counted that as practicing my French. You gotta do what you gotta do.

Learning a language is not an overnight process, or even a month long process for that matter. It takes time and dedication to craft. At this point I only know short phrases like ‘the boy is eating the apple.’ No offense to the app but I would like to see a little more variety in the phrases you learn. I do think I will continue practicing though. Maybe one day I’ll make it to France and I won’t be so lost in translation.

Did you practice a language with me? How did you do? What difficulties did you face in the process? Will you continue practicing?


I know that we’re two days into the month already but I figure we can overlap our challenges a little next month. I’m determined to get back and stay on track with my blogs.

This month our challenge is to be grateful. I know it seems lame but it’s something that I began challenging myself with last year. If you’ve been here a while you’ll probably know that I have ended many of my Friday blogs with a short sentence of what I’m thankful for that day. Before that, I used to send texts to friends asking them what they’re thankful for as well. Somewhere along the way I got out of the habit and I want to get back to doing so.

I will be keeping a list of what I’m thankful for this month and I will update you with the list once we’re complete. You don’t have to do this alone, get your friends, family and even coworkers involved.

What are you thankful for today?

Today I am thankful for getting back on track with my schedule.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. The language challenge has been great for me. I passed my German A1 exam with flying colors. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Love your being thankful challenge. I guess, I’ll be keeping a log too. Today, I am thankful for having a day off.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to hear about your exam!! Congratulations. ๐ŸŽ‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

