A Letter To July

large.jpg

Dear July,

I want to start by saying thank you. You were not perfect, but you were just what I needed. You took me on weekend getaways and got me out of my shell more than I have ever been before, July. I can’t imagine where I would be now without that.

Just for this moment
As long as you’re mine
Come be how you want to
And see how bright we shine
Borrow the moonlight
Until it is through
And know I’ll be here holding you
As long as you’re mine

It feels weird to say, July, but I feel happy. Or rather, I’ve been feeling happy. It’s not all sunshine and lollipops but I feel like I’ve improved. I can’t say if it’s just the season or the circumstances but either way, I’ll take it. I have wished for the day when I could claim that word for myself, July, and you’ve helped me on my way.

From overcast skies and beach front properties to softball games in 90+ heat, we’ve shared enough tears and laughter for a lifetime. Whether we were having a mental breakdown over a broken phone screen or losing game after game with your friends, you never ceased to amaze me, July. If I could live this month again, I think I would in a heartbeat.

We were asked if we would change anything about our past if we could, July, and you might be surprised by my answer. You, most of all, would know how much I deeply regret parts of my life, but I said I wouldn’t change any of it. Each step we take, mistake or otherwise, has lead us exactly where we are today. Although I have made my fair share of mistakes, I wonder, if I hadn’t, if I would be the same person I am today. Would I have the same morals, the same passions, the same heart. I know none of it is perfect, July, but I don’t think it’s wrong.

I want to put you into scrapbooks, July, with all your blurry pictures and vibrant memories. I want to keep you on my night stand to flip through every night before bed. I want to write you into stories to tell the world.

I hope we never forget this time we shared, July, however fleeting it might have seemed. I pray, when we meet again, that we’re still dancing in my kitchen making dinner and hypothetically talking about about our futures.

If you are just a glimpse of what is to come, I want to say thank you again. Thank you for the tears. Thank you for the laughter. Thank you for the time. Thank you for the butterflies. And above all, thank you for the happiness.

For as long as you’re mine,
Rebekah

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Robert Varga says:

    Now that I call a good morning read…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading!

      Like

      1. Robert Varga says:

        Was a pleasure on this part, nice write up and I guess some will recognize themselves in, fully or partially.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

