5 Years From Now

They tell me I have commitment issues
That not making a choice, is still making a choice to let others choose for you
They ask me what I want to be doing in 5 years time
And I tell them I do not know.
I am afraid of starting over
I am afraid of starting
I am afraid of ending.
We live in a world of either/or
But I want to do it all
Is that really so much to ask?
I want to spend my days writing poetry about the way I spend my nights
And I want to spend my nights dancing beneath stars remembering my weekend
I want to fill my weekends with adventure so I have stories to tell tomorrow
And I want my tomorrows to always hold the dreams of yesterday.
In my dreams I am anything I want to be
In my dreams I do not have to choose
In my dreams I can be a poet and I can also be a scientist
I do not have commitment issues
I have issues with leaving one dream behind to chase another when they both can coexist.
They ask me what I want to be doing in 5 years time
And I tell them
Everything


We all know that I hate the 5 years question. Obviously, two blog posts weren’t enough and I had to write a poem too.

When I had my 90 day review at work it apparently meant I was going to be asked that question. I wasn’t prepared. I usually keep a few answers in my pocket to pull out when I’m asked so I wasn’t completely fumbling with it. It did get me thinking though, which is a good thing. There is a lot of situations I’ve experienced here that just rub me the wrong way. Some of which I’ve spoken of before, some of which inspired lines of this poem. I guess if nothing else, I can be thankful that this job has given me material to write about.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I love this line: “I have issues with leaving one dream behind to chase another when they both can coexist.” I totally agree!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

